Politalk


It would come as no surprise to anyone I guess
That our federal government is really in a mess
Whenever there’s an issue, as quickly as they can
Instead of a solution, they focus on the man

They retreat into their separate camps and erect a wall
And if not for the vitriol, there’d be no talks at all
I don’t care what side they’re on, Republican or Dem
The positions that they always take are strictly about them.

Gone are negotiations and the art of compromise
The rhetoric now is riddled with half truths and with lies
And since civility has died, and all conversations mock
I have coined a new word, I call it “politalk”

About oldmainer

I am a retired manager living in Southern Maine and a would be writer of poetry, narratives, short stories, and random opinions, and that's how Oldmainer was born. Recently, I decided to try an experiment. I added photography to the mix, using only a cheap cell phone with a limited camera and the editing software that came with it, and added the blog site Inklings at poormanspoet.wordpress.com to showcase the results. So, feel free to use whatever you find interesting or worthy, but please honor the terms of my copyright when and if you do. They may not be much, but they are still a piece of me. I appreciate your checking me out and hope that you find something that will encourage a return visit. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Couplets, Humor, People, Poetry, Political, Reflection, Rhyme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment